Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Some people think that it is better for teenagers to stay with their parents for a long time before becoming independent. They cite irresponsibility and immaturity of teenagers at this age as reasons for them to stay under their parents’ wings for longer time. However, I believe that a teenager should leave family nest and become independent sooner not later for three reasons.

Firstly, a teenager lived his life under the caring of his parents without any difficulties, but that isn’t a well simulation of what really happen in life. For instance, the life is harsh, and there are a lot of fighting and competing, and it is empty from the love and caring he used to get from his parents. That is, it will be hard for a person at an older age to compete in this life and cease opportunities when he used to get the support from his family all the time without doing any individual actions. Hence, getting integrated with the real life at a younger age is more efficient to adapt and learn without depending on others.

Secondly, entering the real life as soon as possible will widen the teenager gaze and provide him with more experience and some wisdom. To illustrate, an experience in anything require a lot of time to build up, and for some to get the real experience from life, he must be independent and have enough time to gain this experience.

Lastly, an independent person is more likely to take risks. For example, a person who lives with his family will be hesitated to take any risky opportunities and may be afraid of getting judged by his parents. While, an independent person will not has that fear of getting judged by others for any actions he does or any uncertain opportunities he ceases.

To conclude, living with the family for longer time after becoming an adult is not really that bad if you know what to do. However, I still believe independency is very important to sculpt someone’s personality and to learn from the school of life.