Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to study math and science than grammar and literature.

Use examples and reasons to support your position.

Some people argues that math and science are more important for students than grammar and literature. They refer to the demand on math and science students more than literature students specially when relating to the technological advance. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that all of them math, science, grammar and literature must be known and studied by students. I will support my viewpoint with three reasons.

First of all, math and science cannot be studied separately from grammar and literature. To illustrate, a student who study only math and science will not be able to study effectively since he doesn’t know the basics of grammar, he cannot comprehend many science papers, articles and books. He may not be able to communicate his thoughts to written version due to his lack in literature side. This all can cause a drawback in his academic life and will limit his progress in ‘math and science’.

Second of all, a student must not only focus on the other side as well, because mastering grammar and literature without math and science can negatively influence the student life. For instance, someone who doesn’t know how to count money will got cheated and scammed a lot, hence he will not be able to progress in his life. Nowadays, people despite their status are interacting with numbers all day long, and this will require at least the basics of math to deal with most of the cases specifically the ones related to money in the daily life.

Lastly, without the combination of math, science, and literature a student will not able to understand the world around him ore her. For example, the literature is important in this point where it can express the feelings of the student for a natural scene, or it can help him or her to understand the feelings and the idea of other people such as philosophers’ ideas. Also, math and science can help comprehend the logic and laws that control this natural scene or any other natural event.

To conclude, the issue whether math and science are more important for students than grammar and literature is complex. Some have agreed with that due to the technological and industrial development. Nevertheless, I still contend that all math, science and literature are advantageous for students as a whole and should not be favored over each other.