Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action. Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that actions are morally justified if its good results overshadows the bad ones, irrespective of the intent of the person or people performing the action. However, this claim seems too broad and far fetched and fails to encompass diversity of actions and intents that are associated with humans. I partially agree with the author for the reasons that I'll discuss below.

Firstly, we must acknowledge the fact that the world is highly mutable and dynamic, and human intelligence cannot accurately prognosticate the results of one's actions, irrespective of his intent. In such a scenario,a bad intention may lead to good results, or a good intention may lead to bad results. Hence, judging morality of a person's action solely on the basis of results is fundamentally flawed. For example, when Albert Einstein discovered the relation between energy and mass, in his popular theory of relativity, he did not thought that his discovery could have lead to such widespread destruction, as it facilitated invention of nuclear bombs. Clearly, his discoveries caused more harm than good, but concluding that Einstein's actions were morally flawed or unjustified is just accusing him for a crime he didn't commit. Hence, humans are prone to errors and judging them by their results, ignoring their intent is not justified at all.

Secondly, if we take a closer look at human history, we could find sufficient evidence which could bolster the claim that morality, intent and results of actions are not inter-related in many scenarios. For example, while electing a leader, if we consider traits like abstinence from alcohol, treating women equally, getting up early etc as morally sound, we would have ended up electing Hitler, as opposed to Abraham Lincoln, who was a bibulous, used to get up late and indulged in procrastination. Hence, morals, intents and actions should better be judged individually, rather than correlating outcomes of each other.

Lastly, we must also acknowledge the fact that humans are highly adaptive beings, hence our thoughts and motives change according to the environment and the scenario in which one is placed. An action considered morally just one day may be considered a crime some other day. For example, several decades back, child marriage was considered normal in the Indian society, but has been declared as an offence during the recent times. Hence, with the ever changing definitions of "whats morally correct", actions and intents should rather be judged accordingly.

Hence, we can conclude that human tend to commit mistakes and judging a person solely by their actions is not appropriate. But on the other hand, judging a person on intent and morals isn't justified either, as these traits don't generally inter-relate. Moreover, it is the mutable nature of "what right and what's not" that confounds the definition of morals