Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The claim stated that it is believed that leadership should be resettled for every five years in any field. At first glimpse, it seems reasonable as it may help to revitalize that field by changing leadership. However, it is not always the case. In my view, simply by changing the people in power does not necessarily help the development of chosen field. Therefore, I tend to disagree with the speaker.

Admittedly, people, especially the public, have reason to suspect an everlasting dictatorship in filed like politics, government, even business. In fact, we have been tired of hearing the old story about monarchy in history, those in power in governing the people have always liked to maintain their power, not to mention five years. It is actually not even obsolete that dictator like Putin is still in charge of a nation. So, it is definitely reasonable to question the maximum serving years for government positions, considering the thirst of power grabbing of the people who are in charge.

Another important fact for promoting this five year termination is that it could bring in new blood for the given field. Because the talented young who cannot be heard as a result of a dictatorship in the institution. Or as the claim put it, the pave the way for continuing success for any enterprise, it is crucial to add in new thoughts, or new leadership.

However, this idea to replace the powerful simply because they have been served for a certain period of time is relatively superficial. Indeed, the author didn’t take the complexity of real life case into consideration. A perfect example would be the disaster of dwindling execution of government policy due to the fact that politicians are replaced so rapidly that any propounding policy which need years of dedication could never last long enough. In United States, basically every 8 years, the party that are in charge switch from The Democratic Party to The Republican Party. One remarkable difference of the two parties is their attitude about environment protecting policy. In fact, it is widely known that the democrats set up a series of strict policies to regulate the behavior of corporate like oil companies. However, the recent triumph of the republican party, who took not only the majority seats of senate, but also the presidential seat, makes it impossible to continue these kind of polices, as a result, oil companies may jeopardize the local environment in order to maximum their profits. By the time a next left-wing environment protecting chief in charge, it would be already too late to restore the polluted ecosystem.

In the case above, the point I want to address is that, some projects which could probably last for decades could be hindered by changing leadership. It is oversimplified to assume that just because the replacement of leadership, everything about the enterprise would automatically become better. Thus, I tend to disagree with the speaker.

To recapitulate, I do agree that in some cases a dictatorship would be disastrous to the development of an enterprise. But the reality is simply be switching leadership over a fixed amount of time while ignore the specific case would not be a wise choice either. Thus, in disagree with the author in general.