Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Fact is something which is true and its correctness can be generally experimentally proven. However, with each day as we progress even more in the field of science and technology, new theories are coming up which disprove the previous theories. Thereby, reestablishing the notion of facts. Thus, having a mistrust on facts may be right to a great extent.

Oxygen is necessary for the surivial of human beings and animals. This is fact which is well perceived by everyone and even scientifically acknowledged. It may seem that this fact will never change, however, there definitely lies a possibility in which due to some calamity the entire earth's atmosphere is destroyed and entire human existence may be wiped off. However, due to biological evolution, there very well lies a possibility that due to mutation, organisms might develop a new method of respiration which frees the dependence on oxygen for survival.

In addition, as per Einstien's theory of relativity, it is stated that no particle can travel beyond the speed of light, as beyond this particular speed particles tend to loose their mass and they become non-existent. On the contrary, recent scientific discoveries disprove this fact. In one of the world's most expensive equipment, The Large Hadron Collider, few particles were found which were travelling in speeds greater than that of light. Thus, the fact that no particle can travel beyond the speed of light, which was thought universally true, nevertheless was disproved.

However, this does not in any way mean that we should have absolute mistrust on the facts that are established today. Today, sun is at the centre of the solar system, this is fact which is very much true, and even though there lies a possibility that this might change in the next thousand years or so, does not give us a reason to mistrust it. By the time this happens, most of the people wont be alive to witness it. Thus, discarding a fact with a possibility of being disproved a million or billion years later is also wrong, because during our entire span of survival this fact is true.

Hence, even though there are numerous facts in which scientific theories have been discarded, encourages us to place a mistrust on the facts. However, again at the same time it does not justify mistrusting the facts which are true during our lifetime.