Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.Write a res

I mainly agree with the claim that the best way to test an argument is its ability to convince an opponent of the idea. I am however not convinced that the reason for this being true is to then discover the real value of the idea. Here’s why:

Very first, we must understand the reason why people argue. It’s because we’re social animals that share a common living space, which constantly results in conflicts of interest. What I might want to do might impinge upon what somebody else is able to do. Animals also have these sorts of conflicts, and their most common solution is—with some exceptions—through violence: The stronger animal will get it his or her way. Us humans, with our better cognitive and communication skills however have developed the ability to solve conflicts using fighting with words. We constantly negotiate with each other to determine which ideas are put into practice, and which aren’t. It is only when this peaceful negotiation procedure fails that we use physical force to get it our way. To summarize my central point: Communicating with other people is a negotiating procedure that determines which ideas are going to be put into practice, and therefore the claim is correct, that it is crucial to constantly test an argument by communicating with other people, to see if they are socially viable.

Now, how is this explanation at odds with the reason given by the author of the task? The author lists the discovery of an idea’s value in the process of arguing with another person as the reason why one should engage in arguments with other people. This is only half-true. Yes, it will be through arguing with somebody else in an honest manner that one will be able to discover the quality of one’s idea. But quality is not tantamount to value! If losing an argument, the reason might very well just be because the argument was poorly developed but doesn’t forcibly mean that the idea behind the argument was without value. After a lost argument, one should therefore rather carefully evaluate why the argument was lost, and how to possibly improve the arguing strategy as well as the argument’s content, before discarding the idea as a whole.

There are also exceptions, where it’s not firstly through convincing somebody else that the quality of an argument is tested. The best example of such an exception is science. Scientists will naturally argue among themselves how to interpret data before reaching a definite conclusion about a discovery, but once the science is settled, scientific facts don’t depend on whether uneducated people can be convinced about their truthfulness.

Summa samarum, the central claim is mostly correct because it understands the fundamentally social nature of human beings. No matter how intelligent somebody is, and how sophisticated somebody’s ideas, if they aren’t able to communicate them efficiently to other people, most probably they are going fail.