Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.Write a res

I mainly agree with the claim that the best way to test an argument is through its ability to convince an opponent of the idea. I am however not convinced that the reason for this being true is to thereby discover the real value of the idea. Here’s why:

At the very first we must understand the reason why people argue which we’ll find—as so often—in their evolutionary history: The reason why people argue is because we’re social animals that share a common living space, which constantly results in conflicts of interest between individuals. What I want to do might impinge upon what somebody else is able to do. To give an example, if both my wife and I want to use the television, and I’d like to watch channel A, but she’d much rather watch channel B, and because we can’t watch both channels at the same time, only one of us will get it their way. Animals also have these sorts of conflicts of interest, and their most common solution is—with some exceptions—through violence: The stronger animal will get it his or her way. Us humans, with our better cognitive and communication skills however have developed the ability to solve conflicts through fighting with words. We constantly negotiate with each other to determine which ideas are put into practice, and which aren’t. It is only when this peaceful negotiation procedure fails that we use physical force to get it our way. Summarizing my central point: Communicating with other people is a negotiating procedure that determines which ideas are going to be put into practice, and therefore the claim is correct that it is crucial to constantly test an argument by communicating with other people, to check if they are socially viable.

Having clarified this, how is this explanation at odds with the reason given by the author of the task? The author lists the discovery of an idea’s value in the process of arguing with another person as the reason why one should engage in arguments with other people. This is only half-true. Yes, it will be through honestly arguing with somebody else that one will be able to discover the quality of one’s idea. But quality is not tantamount to value! In the case an argument is lost, the reason might very well just be because the argument was poorly developed, so that doesn’t forcibly mean that the idea behind the argument was without value. One should therefore rather carefully evaluate why the argument was lost, and how to possibly improve the arguing strategy as well as the argument’s content, before discarding the idea as a whole.

There are also exceptions, where it’s not firstly through convincing somebody else that the quality of an argument is tested. The best example of such an exception is science. Scientists will naturally argue among themselves how to interpret data before reaching a definite conclusion about a discovery, but once the science is settled, scientific facts don’t depend on whether uneducated or scientifically untrained people in general can be convinced about their truthfulness.

Summa samarum, the central claim is mostly correct because it understands the fundamentally social nature of human beings. No matter how intelligent somebody is, and how sophisticated somebody’s ideas, if they aren’t able to communicate these ideas efficiently to other people, they are going fail to get them implemented.