It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

I most strongly disagree with this statement. Here’s why.

First, I understand and can relate to why many people tend to adhere to their belief system instead of compromising it when it’s being challenged. We humans are ethical beings. It is now known thanks to evolutionary biological and psychological research that part of our ethics has been shaped by our evolutionary history. Nevertheless, almost all societies that exist explain these ethics through ad hoc religious stories. In the Western world, the fundamental ethical story is outlined in the Bible, and consequentially, much of our legal system and many societal norms are based on Christian ethics. In China Buddhism, Confucianism and Taoism are used as fundament to Chinese ethics. In the same manner, other societies have developed their own fundamental stories and documents to serve as fundament to their societal ethics.

So, the reason why many people are highly defensive about their beliefs is because a challenge to their beliefs is a direct challenge to the ethical system that is formed by said beliefs. I see this as the main reason why for example fundamentalist Christians won’t accept the theory of Evolution and the Big Bang Theory, even though the evidence for both these theories is crystal clear: They regard the creation story of the Bible as fundamental fact, and a disproval of that fact would destroy the credibility of the entire Bible—which is believed to be perfect—and therefore would ruin their entire belief system and their societal ethics along with them. And without a unifying ethic, it is hard to build a community. So, it is no wonder that people have a strong urge to adhere to their believes rather than compromising them, and one can summarize that the statement for this task holds true in the sense that adhering to a believe system helps humans maintain a sense of common purpose, which is essential for cooperation, because we are social beings.

Nevertheless, adhering to the own believes when they are being challenged with valid new information is highly problematic. If a believe system is regarded as infallible and complete, then there is no way to adapt to 1) new facts and 2) a changing environment. As seen in the example given above, Christian fundamentalists have a hard time adopting to the “recently” discovered facts that we share a common ancestry with all living beings and that the Earth and the universe as a whole are much older than previously thought. Therefore, it is much better to regard personal believes—and believes held by a society at large—as imperfect and allowing for the possibility that they might be subject to change. We live in an ever-faster changing society, with new facts discovered about our human existence, and about the universe as a whole at an ever-faster pace. Therefore, it will be essential for our society to be able to adapt to whatever fascinating facts we will discover in the future. And for that to be possible, humans have to identify with change rather than with what they already know, in order to always be able to adapt to the changes that are occurring. It’s the trap that all ideologues fall into, namely that they believ what they know to be sufficient and complete rather than incomplete and fallible. This might reduce anxiety in the short run, because it can give a sense of security and community, but it will be absolutely catastrophic in the long run, because people thinking like this will be ever-worse adapted to the accumulating changes.