Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A role model is a person that someone else looks to as a good example. A society must make a role model so that people could see what things are appreciated and can align to good habits. The prompt here recommends that the best way to judge a society is by looking at their role model’s or hero’s character. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion and argue that heroes and role models show a society’s real values. The below two paragraphs will cast light on my perspective with an apt example.

To begin with, role models or heroes tell us what kinds of people are included in society and what are their mindsets? To illustrate, let us look at the example of a scenario where a society’s role model is a man who is a popular political leader but always threatens people to support him. Instead of making a women role model, who won a medal in the Olympics? Just because society thinks that women are not capable of that position and not worthy of that appreciation.

Furthermore, role models or heroes show what traits are appreciated by society and what everyone wants to become in the future. Consider the example of a country where soldiers and doctors are given more importance than movie actors or singers because they sacrifice a lot for the country and its people and they want more people to go into this profession.

Of course, some people claim that role models or heroes cannot reflect the character of the whole society because there is the possibility of the presence of people who are against society and indulge in some bad work. For instance, many poor people believe that to become a role model they first need money so that they can get an education. And to get the money they get involved in scamming or robbery etc. In my opinion, role models affect a person’s core values and if the role models are good then the character of the society will also be nice.