Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the contemporary day and age, there is a war of words regarding the belief that government should only act on present problems rather than the problems that might happen in future. An equal number of people comes in favour of the very notion, however, others are hesitant to it. The following paragraphs, would cast light on my personal perspective along with an apt example.

I partially welcome the statement that governent should work only on immediate problems than the problems that might emerge in future. The reason responsible for my opinion is that if government don’t focus on immediate problems than problems will get accumulated and nothing will be resolved. For example, pandemic is going on because of spread of a deadly virus and to get rid of this situation the governemt is deciding to start the research and developement on vaccine. But government is delaying in taking decision because they are also thinking if people would not like to get vaccinated because of the side effects which appears after taking vaccine or government won’t be able to afford the vaccine distribution cost all over the country. Therefore the tolls of infected and death people increases. The above example illustrates that delaying decision because of the problems that may or may not emerge will only create more problems.

On second thought there is a reason that drive me to consider the opposite notion as well. If the government include various future problems that might emerge while taking decisions on present problems then this would lead to a better and more flexible outcome. For example, a software engineer is developing a website with a specific requirement. If the engineer develops a website that will be containing dynamic components which are compatible with the future requirements so it will be considered as better solution. The above example illustrates that including future problems while taking decisions will be feasible in future also and will help to save time and money.

Taking everything into account, I personally feel that although looking over the problems that may happen in future can help to create a better solution for present and future situations, yet the downside should not be overlooked.