Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement bridges the character of a society with the character of the heroes of its people’s choice. Of course, almost every society features a few role models who, at least so said the stories, sparkle invaluable qualities that win over its people’s reverence, or even worship. The best way to understand the character of a society, however, is through its heroes or its role models.

Indeed, heroes and role models do reveal a society’s highest ideals, such as free of bloodshed, violence, and suffering. Spiderman, for instance, has been a superhero known to generations of Americans. There have been many movies about his heroic doings, and being a movie itself allows for more room for the plot to be idealized, thus allowing the protagonist to radiate his characters with minimal hindrance. Apart from being a typical high school student – curious, energetic, sometimes naïve – Spiderman has so many times risked his life saving innocent and vulnerable people from the evil and helped eradicate wickedness. In one of his movies, the villain destroys the bridge a train full of passengers is about to cross. In the absence of any other aid, Spiderman rushes past the train, attaches himself to the nearby buildings with a few threads of elastic gossamer, and risks his life to stop the train with his body and the elastic force pulling him in the opposite direction of the train’s motion. Sure enough, Spiderman once again creates a miracle that earns people’s exclamation and respect. From Spiderman, one can notice his boldness, resourcefulness, and self-sacrifice.

Renowned for liberty and independence, Americans as a nation has been a pioneer in individualism. Spiderman’s characters, while precious, fails to represent this principle feature that any history class would not neglect. Actually, self-sacrifice is also one of the lofty virtues that eastern society calls for. For example, Shaoyun Qiu, was said to voluntarily be burned to death for common good. Ordered to set up an ambush near the enemy’s fortress, Qiu lurked in the grass with his platoon. Unfortunately, the enemy threw a firebomb beside him and lit a fire. Instead of rolling into the stream inches away to put out the fire on his body, he chose to stay put in order to veil the operation and burned to death. His sacrifice protected his platoon and gave rise to the victory of the battle. His somewhat disturbing story, has been passed down generations after generations to promulgate this heroic behavior. Interestingly, self-sacrifice, a quality prorogated by China where collectivism prevails, is also found in American society where individualism dominates.

Such contrast in social ideology and the parallel of the quality in both heroes suggest that the approach to understanding the character advocated by the prompt is not all that flawless. Surely, we can glimpse the character of a society through its heroes or role models, but they tend to display the paramount qualities that its people long for, or the uniqueness nearly unfound elsewhere. To say they serve as the best indicator of the people’s character would therefore be misleading.