Do you agree or disagree: young people should try many different kinds of jobs or career before they decide the long term career of their life.

It is usually difficult for young people who have not much work experience to decide whether they should change their career now. Apparently, there are no absolutely right answers to the question. But for me, I think young people shouldn’t try too many totally different jobs before they decide on their career for the rest of their lives.

First of all, changing your job too frequently will result in a large cost of living, which may occur big trouble in your early career. Most young people have not much money because of lacking work experience and low salaries in the beginning. They have to spend additional cost on transport, accommodation, and so on when they relocate for another job. One of my classmates, Jim, who went to university with a student loan. After he graduated from the university, none of any jobs he did lasted more than 3 months. At the end, he has problem repaying his loan.

Another point is that, you have to spend more energy on skills that you don’t need for the career path you eventually decide to follow. Every job has unique requirements of professional skills, which may take years to be trained for and to master. But most of this professional skills can’t help if you change to another new career, and then you find that you just have been wasting your time on useless things. For example, I had been studying day and night to figure out a professional software for capturing economic data in my first job. However, this special skill plays no role in my second job in chemistry. In another word, I sacrificed my time and energy to gain something useless for my development.

Last but not least, it may be hard to focus on the present work after changing jobs frequently. Young people may be unsatisfied with the current jobs because they believe a more rewarding, more suitable job is waiting for them. For this reason, it is difficult to concentrate on your current job, which may result in a decrease in efficiency at work and the chance of getting a promotion.

In a word, young people not only can’t benefit much from trying too many jobs, but also could harm their career.