Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.Write a response in wh

There are various kinds of method to understand the character of a society, the essay claimed the hero and role models as good symbol of the nation can be an exhaustic representaion, it actually narrowed down the way to understand the country.As far as my conern, the main hero is a part of the society's culture,however, the character of the whole nation exists everywhere. I will suggets some point that we can cue in the character and analyze the hero's part which the essay disscussed that I do not totally agree.

Different contries have different cultures. Japanese character is a controversy to people ,especially to chinese. When we were very young,We chinese all had been taught that the janpanese intruded china and masccared people of our nation over 3000000 in Najing ,1937. It had made us very angry with janpanese for years and we will never forget the history. Lots of people, including me, consider the janpanese, especially the emperor,were all very bad as the did such crime to chinese people and do not regret totally. But now when I went to Japan for trip, I found almost every japanese is very polite and humble, no one like beast as I thought before. So If I do not go to tokyo, Yokohoma, Osaka, I won't believe what I saw and experinced. As I concern, we could not understand the character of a society merely by main hero of roles that could make us to make an parochial judgement like lots of chinese people's impresion on Janpanese.

Another reason is the Hero of the socitey respresent part of the main character of a country. Nelson Mandela was very tough president who had lived in jail for decades. With the strong belief that "NEVER NEVER EVER GIVE UP", which inspired millions of people, he went through the tough days and made South Afirca prosper and thrived on his presidency. While we can not just judge the character of South Africa as tough from the hero President Madela, there are so many tribes and white people in South africa, so wen can not make a general dipiction of the character for the country, as my experince in Cape Town was very good for living and people there are all very kind and mild.

The hero is the symbol of the country while every coin has two sides , some hero , on the other hand is not a good ideal of the country which can do harm to the figure to the country, like Stalin, russian president who killed many people disagreed with him, the role also could not be a good character of the society.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the topic toally.