Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To address the issue raised in the statement, it is important to clarify what it means to be a hero. I would consider a hero and role model if it has positive impact on the public. Also, leading people and trend in society. Given this understanding of a hero and role model, I tend to disagree with the statement insofar as a hero and role model might not be the best character that represent the society and there could be other better ways to understand the society.

First and foremost, in my perspective, author’s claim about heros’ representative of the society ideals is not always unqualified, because, people usually praise and extol heroes not like them due to their personalities or characters have reflected ideals in the society. Those who would support the speaker might point out that it is often to became a hero due to what he/she have done and he/she have ideal thought and behavior that the society is looking for. However, we can illustrate several heroes that people praise and like them because they have advantages that people do not have or is very rare in the society. For instance, Sports star such as Michel Jordan or Pelphes, they are very well known heroes who achieved their career goal in their life and made whole nations happy and zealot.

Another reason why I essentially disagree with the speaker is that role models is one of the character that people want to be look like, not always share the society’s ideal characters. people tend to set a role models in order to set a goal and motivate myself to become like he/she. Of course, there are many notable exceptions to reasons of becoming role models and a contrary view would reveal that role model usually present their characters of the society because it has choose from the the society such as Hillary Clinton from the women in United States. Nonetheless, role model cannot always represent the group which is from since it is very common to change the role model as getting old or environment changed. For example, young girls and mature women’s role model is quite different and it would be changed based on their needs.

Even if heroes and role models have ideal characters of the society, it might not the best way of understanding the society. it is very possible to find out other better ways to estimate the society such as natural environment and culture, history.

By and large, there are both for and against the statement. I believe that the issue is unreliable to some extent because heroes and role models are not always have highest ideal in that society and there could be other better ways to understanding the society than understanding heroes and role models.