To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To address the issue raised in the statement, it is important to clarify what it means the highest ethical and moral standards. I would consider the ethical if it is a rule that people had agreeed to keep and follow in order to maintain the system of the society. On the other hand, the moral standards is a concept which people share and consider as a rule to follow to make the society goes well and not agianst the intricsic ... of everyones. Given this understanding of the ethical and moral standards, I tend to disagree with the statement insofar as effective leader should have the hightest ethical and moral standards. however, we should bear in mind that there are some exceptions and extent that we should consider too.

First and foremost, in my perspective, the quthor's claim about the hightest ethical is unacceptable, because, maintaining ethical is very important to letting the society goes well with the established systems but hightest ethical is to exceed the extent and it is also common to have some exceptions when it comes to urgent or far-reaching political or social issues. Those who would support the speaker might point out that everyone should follow the instruction and system 100 percentage whenever and whatever, otherwise people would not beileve the leader and leader could not lead people successfully and effectively. however, highest ethical is not always neccessary for the effective leader. For instance, leader should keep the systems and agreement among people for effectiveness and authority but some exceptions are always required for the quick and effective decisions.

Another reason why I essentially disagree with the speaker is that the moral standards is not the most required and important factor when we consider the effective leader. Generraly, the effective leader needs to be acumen, have insight and leadership for cultivate other people to achive the goals. Of course, there are may notable exceptions and a contrary view would reveal that the leader with the hightest moral standars would more easily persuade the nation to move forward together. Nonetheless, the effective leader is not a saint and we evaluate the leader based on what they did and achieved. For example, Bill Clinton, the past president in the U.S. and evaluated as an one of the presidents who stimulate the economy, but he experienced the scandal with the Rwinsky who was a intern in the white house.

Furthermore, we also should concede that ethical and moral standars are not always go together. Sometimes ethical standards are not compatible with the moral standars. For instance, the attorney-client provillage, lawyers should keep the client's secret even if it is not moral. however, every lawyers should keep the previllege to maintaining the systems by the American Bar Association. Thus, the effective leader could have the ethical standars which is not moral standards.

By and large, there are both for and against the statement. I believe that the issue is unreliable to some extent because highest ethical and moral standards is not the most important factor to become the effective leader, there are many exceptions during the work and decisions. also, ethical and moral are not always compatible, they are contradict under the some situations.