Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claims is based.

The character of society is determined by the overall thinking of the people living in that society. Prompt suggest that to understand the character of the society we have to examine the character of man and women that the society chooses as its hero. In my not so humble opinion, I agree with the statement as it seems to be blatant due to following reasons.

First of all, as society is made up group of people living together, mentality of those people determine the character of society. Exemplar, if society is well educated and knows the important of life then it is plausible that they will choose well successful man or women as their role model or hero and it’s blatant that, that person will be well educated. Form this we can say that mentality of society matters a lot to determine its character.

In addition, if society admires a person who is criminal as their role model or hero then it’s blatant that, that society is not well educated and they don’t know the difference between right and wrong deeds. In this case it will have negative impact on upcoming generation and they may foster from such wrong role model and hero. For instance, if a person is born between the criminals then it is blatant that, that person will grow up into a criminal because no one has told him what is right and wrong in his childhood.

Finally, good nation is built on the shoulder of much good society who admire well successful person as their hero or role model. If they are admiring wrong person as their hero or role model then it will attenuate that nation in front of whole world. For example, there is some nation who let terrorist to run their nation and terrorist sit in that nation planning to kill innocent people of other nations it result in the war. This shows that people of that nation are not well educated and they don’t know the difference between wrong and right deeds.

In conclusion, by seeing all above reasons which bolster the statement we can say that character and mentality of the society is determine by the character of man and women that the society chooses as its hero or its role model.