Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Modern problem required modern solution. I agree with the statement that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. Tough there are many laws made still some of the problems don’t have solution and others cannot be solved by legal system.

To begin with, laws are made to solve many problems and one who does not follow laws suffers from great penalty. Some may think that if they follow path of legal system than it will take lot of time so laws are useless other may think that every problem have solution and one should follow legal system. For instance, in past bond was sign between China and India that no country will use weapons against each other. But China without breaking the law kills 20 Indian soldiers with rods. This proves that one cannot change what is there in people’s heart and mind. So this action of china requires modern solution.

Secondly, there are many problems which don’t have laws or it require lot of time if they are tried to solve by legal system. For example, terrorist attack on 26/11 in India. Group of terrorist attack on Taj Hotel in Mumbai and after they were taken down one of them was arrested. Many civilian died in this attack but as Indian government decide to go through legal system and laws that terrorist was kept alive in prison for several years where he don’t deserve to live for such a long period and after 5-6 years he given death penalty. It took many years to bring justice to those people who died in that attack. This shows that sometime going through legal system takes lot of time and there are no laws made for every problem.

Finally, laws cannot change people’s heart or mindset. As every criminal think that he/she is not doing anything wrong by stealing food for leaving but according to law it is wrong. This proves that people’s heart and mindset cannot be changed. Those criminal don’t understand that food that they are steeling belong to someone else who has done hard work to achieve it. They only think about themselves and they have created the mindset that their action is not wrong.

In conclusion, there are many new problems taking birth everyday and those problem required modern solution and they cannot be solved my laws and legal system because we cannot change people’s heart and mindset.