A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It stated in the prompt that, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program for patient. Additionally they support this argument by stating that, according to study reported that pet owner have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who owns no pet. Specially, dog owner tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. However, before it is blatant to answer some question before jumping to conclusion.

First of all, what if, some patients don’t like the dog adoption program? Or what if, some patients have allergy to dog’s hair? Maybe some patient in the Sherwood Hospital doesn’t like pets due to reason like they have allergy or they are afraid of dogs. In this case it is plausible that patient in that hospital will be not filling comfortable and if patient in the hospital is not comfortable then it is blatant that their recovery rate reduces. Maybe it is also possible that some patients are allergic to dog’s hair which may give birth to other problems. If this happens to be true, then it is blatant that all patients will not like this idea and it may exacerbate the patient’s condition.

Secondly, are dogs allowed in hospital? Or what is the possibility that all patients will be free from heart disease? Maybe, even if some of the patients adopt the dog they will not able to keep that dog in hospital as it is blatant that it will create problem to other patient who don’t like dogs or are allergic to dogs. In this case adopting a dog is useless as they will have to leave the dog at home. Some old heart patient will not be able to take care of the dog properly so it may create more stress to them as well as to the dog. In this case it may have adverse effect on their health. If this happen to be true then conclusion drown from the prompt does not hold the water.

Finally, after heavy expenses on heart disease how many people will able to afford a dog? Or how many people will able to take good care of the dog? As maintaining the dog is very expensive and time consuming. So many patients will not able to afford the dog after heavy expenses on their health and even if they did they will not able to properly maintain that dog. If this happens to be true then conclusion made by arguer is not practically possible.

In conclusion, the evidence provided by the arguer, that supports his claim, is dubious as well as erroneous. If all the questions are answer and more evidences are provided then it will strengthen the argument.