The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the memorandum that, WWAC must change current rock music format as number of listener are contracting day by day even after population of the city is burgeoning. Additionally, manager support his came by giving evidence that people moving here are aged and they must not like the rock-music. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated some question must be answer.

To begin with, what if retired people moved to this area like rock-music of their generation? Or what is the possibility that music which is being broadcasting on WWAC is not of their generation? Maybe, retire people like rock-music of their generation and radio station is playing music of latest generation which is leading to debacle. If this happens to be true, then it is blatant that people will not like music broadcasted on this radio station. So instead of changing format of the music it is blatant that generation of the music must be change.

Moreover, what is the possibility that changing to a news and talk format will entice more listeners? Or why people will like to hear news on radio where they can simply watch or read? Maybe , problem is not with the broadcast, maybe it is with add between to music which is irritating people or fostering people to stop listening to this station. Maybe, people will not like to hear news on radio when they can watch live news on television and read it is newspaper. If this happens to be true then conclusion drawn from the original argument is weakened.

Finally, what if people don’t like to hear radio anymore? Or what if people like to watch instead of listen? As technology is advancing radio listener are fading away. Maybe, many people are shifting towards television which is leading to decrease in number of radio listener. If this happens to be true, then it is plausible that number of radio listener will decrease day by day and claim made by manager of WWAC does not hold any water.

In conclusion, evidence provided by the manager, that support his claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. However, if more all the question is answer and more evidences are provided then it may strengthen the argument.