Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Clear guidance does not mean that students should be coerced into taking subjects that are not going to be useful for them in any manner. Therefore universities specifying all required courses abate students' learning capability and enthusiasm for specific subjects. Instead, elective courses should me made partially mandatory in all colleges and universities where they are currently not. It encourages students to dedicate more time to the subject of their interest. On the other hand, it is true that giving complete freedom of choice confuses students on various levels. Therefore they need some kind of guidance. Either in the form of partially fixed choice of course, or be it an education counselor to guide them to their goals.

Moreover, the reason provided for claim is misguiding and not in coherence with the claim. Ample amount of liberty is provided in education. The basic idea of education is to make one capable of thinking independently and dynamically. To make them able to realize what is good for them and what is not. It is not about making students docile enough to follow directions at every step. The reason provided, suggests that institutions are only debilitating the cognition of students. The reason appears to censure what educational institutes stands for. Take for instance the cliche example of judging a fish by its capabilities of climbing tree. Universities do not want to do that. Instead letting the fish choose its own set of skills to prove its worth sounds a lot better idea.

However, the problem of confusion which is there during the time of choosing subjects is a reality. But this does not mean that students should be strapped off their rights to do so. To tackle the problem universities and schools have career guidance and educational counselling departments. It is their purpose to sort out the confusion for students taking admission into college. Same has been implemented recently in India. Where until recently there were no education counselor or career guide available to help students to better understand what is good for their career. And still a large number of colleges and universities are teaching a prefixed set of subjects in most of their courses. Because of which the students end up wasting their time learning things that may never prove useful to them in their line of job.

Conclusively, it is true that in general people like to get some directions, but it is only when their discern is limited. Once they get the understanding of what they need and how to achieve it, no one would like to be pushed around only to follow directions.