Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own

Some people claim that colleges and universities should specify all the required courses and eliminate elective courses on the premise that people in general prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. Although eliminating elective course may have some positive outcomes, I strongly disagree that the elective courses should be eliminated for the reasons stated below.

First off, there are some benefits to eliminating the elective classes. If the elective classes were gone, then it would give students more time to focus on the classes related to their degree. Certain degrees, like most physical sciences, require more specific classes than other degrees, like social sciences. With more time to focus on the specific classes it would make those people have a more comprehensive knowledge of their subject matter and make them better trained in their field. It will also ensure that the students entering graduate school will have taken all the same classes, instead of them taking some random electives. For example I am applying to graduate school and am realizing that many programs I want to enter want the student to have completed organic chemistry, but that was not a requirement for me to graduate. If the university was more specified in the classes the students should take then it would be more beneficial for the students.

Eliminating electives can be beneficial, but not for the reasoning given for this claim.

In the prompt above the reasoning for getting rid of the elective classes is that college students -- like people in general -- prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. I agree that some people may like following directions, but I argue that everyone is different, and many people are the opposite and resist authority. I, myself am a good example of this. I listen to other peoples advice, however I do not do well when people tell me exactly what to do. I also enjoyed the freedom to decide some of the classes that I was going to take during college. Electives are important because they give the student some freedom and for another reason.

Another reason electives are important is because it broadens the knowledge of the individual. It is important that every person entering a field does not have the same breath of knowledge, so that problems can be solved. Problems are solved by people discussing differing opinions and synthesizing everyone's knowledge. Without differences problems would never be solved.

In conclusion there are some benefits to eliminating electives, but the reason is not that people prefer to follow directions. I believe that eliminating electives would have more negative effects than positives ones.