"Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning." - Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns

Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom, while others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning. I agree that competition can motivate students to excel in the classroom, but I also argue that in some instances competition can also distract student from serious learning and I will use examples to prove my point.

The first reason I cannot that competition is always motivating is that every person is different. They differ in personalities and how they react to certain situations. Competitions are situations that compare your results with other people. A competition can be long-term, like competing for high grades during a semester, or it may have a time restraint, like the timed multiplication tests I took in middle school. Either way competitions are usually high pressure and each individual deals with pressure differently. Pressure is a motivating factor in most people, but this is not the case for everyone.

During middle school I was required to take timed multiplication tests. Once one test was successfully completed, then the individual would move on to the next, harder test. For most individuals, including me, the pressure to tackle the next test was motivational. I would go home and study multiplication, so I would move on to the next test and also move farther from my friends. But this pressure was not helpful for everyone, especially kids who found math difficult. They thought that they would never complete the tests anyways, so they did not spend time on multiplication. Instead these test had the opposite effect on some students, deterring them from learning multiplication. Competition can also be damaging in other ways.

Competition allows for only one winner. Lets take the example of competing for high grades. There is only one individual who is going to have the highest grade, which leaves all other students disappointed. If students are able to accept the fact that not everyone is going to be the best and compete only to better oneself, then competition can be healthy.

In conclusion I agree that competition in the classroom is beneficial for many reasons, but it is not always the best solution for each individual student.