Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether young people should "follow their dreams" or choose less selfish, worthy goals.

Indisputably, I agree that it is important to keep one's goals realistic and relevant to society.

Nevertheless, we have seen people whose dreams were discredited at first, but turned out to make an impactful contribution in many people's lives. We are all diverse and we feel the need to express ourselves accordingly. And, as long as we excel in our work, other people will relate to it, making our job worthwhile.

Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that someone else's goals can be classified as "worthy" or "unworthy" of their time and effort and would argue that if a person considers that a certain objective is important to them, they should pursue it.

First of all, I dare say it would be impossible to get through life without having any joy in it. The human being needs to feel an important connection with what they do with the majority of their time, even if it is somewhat selfish at times.

I would like to point out that the many of those who we admire today had to have an introspective moment to work on their dreams. To illustrate, let us look at Steve Jobs' example: It is told that he would work on his projects for hours straight, leaving his family on second plan. In this circumstance, obviously we could argue that selfishenss is a relative concept. His family might have felt his absence at precious times, deeming him a workaholic, but would it not have been selfish of him not to share his computing gifts with Humanity? Consequently, it is pretty obvious that there is a price to be paid to carry out whatever mission your calling demands you to.

Furthermore, what is the basis of the author affirmation? Should we only attend to our immediate and bare necessities, we would slowly turn into emotionally-damaged people, oppressing our deepest desires. Specifically, we would not have known many of the inventions and creations we see nowadays, we would have sung to many songs that marked out trajectory... The examples are infinite.

Both common sense and personal experience have told us that no dream is a bad dream if it makes sense to their dreamer and those around them.

Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that it is okay to idealise the future that you want for yourself and how you can directly impact not only those around you but billions of others through the Internet and other means of communication. There is no limit, really. So why should you limit yourself?

Admittedly, "following your heart's desire" will have consequences. This is true especially when it comes to affording your Education. Will you have enough money to keep up with your student debt if you decided to go for a career that will not provide quick financial return?

In addition, a person has only so much time to dream before they will have to pay their own bills and have grown-up responsibilities. After that, this person will have to accommodate their goals to their reality and that's sadly when many dreams die off. Worthy or not. Because of this, it is essential that this person can be as mature as possible about their decisions from an early age.

In conclusion, although many people will follow inherently egotistical ambitions. John Lennon sang (and we still sing it to this day): "You may say I'm a dreamer but I'm not the only one." As long as there are those who dream big and work hard to achieve it, many others will benefit from it.