Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The claim states that though young people is often receive the advice to "follow your dreams", more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals and the reason given for this claim is that many people's dream are inherently selfish. Claim makes perfect sense to advise young people to be more focused about picking a worthy goal instead of a dream one because a worthy goal in life should be one working hard for. However, Im not that convinced by the reason given to support this claim by stating that most people's dreams are inherently selfish.

Selecting a correct goal in life is very important. One shouldnt go blindly behind their dream goal. They must spend some time in analysing their interests and fields where they can perform well. Also, a goal must be in a field which could help young youth to use their creativity and innovativeness in a progressive manner. Along with this, a worthy goal should not only help an individual to grow at professional level, but also at personal level. Consider, for example, as children we all have dreamy goals, yet when we grow up we select one specific or a few specific areas of interest. When I was young I dreamt of becoming a doctor, but as I grew I realised that I'm more interested in computers and hence , I opted for engineering field rather than medicines and today Im a software developer. Thus, while picking a goal one must take into considerations of what his/ her fields on interests and where he could clearly see a bright future.

Many times, we come across the examples of such fields where there are no more opportunities in the future. Before picking up a goal one must foresee it's advantages and disadvantages.

There is no clear line between selfish and generous dreams, it varies from person to person. It might seem to be selfish to one but not to the other. Thus, basing claim for selecting a worthy goal on the reason that people's dream are inherently selfish is something I'm not fully convinced with.

In conclusion, I would say emphasising on a worthy goal is important.