Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given prompt claims that governments should provide financial support to the major cities because it's in these cities that nation's cultural traditions are preserved. I strongly disagree with the claim and the reason that supports it and argue that government should instead look for more sustainable solutions because of the following reasons.

First of all, it is important to note that various cultural traditions of a country which cannot found in cities are still being preserved in rural areas. For instance, In India farming has been an extremely crucial part of the Indian heritage. Although in recent times this activity has been restricted only to the rural areas, as a result many cultural traditions related to farming such as the festivals celebrating the harvest season are only celebrated in the rural areas these days. This example illustrates that various cultural traditions absent in the cities are still being preserved in the rural areas and as a result proves the reason supporting the claim wrong.

Further instead of making the major cities dependent on the governments for financial support, the government should aim to make these cities independent. The government should look for methods which make these cities generate enough revenue to not only sustain themselves but also help the government. This is extremely important because if the government keeps on funding it's major cities then who will fund the government? The government itself depends on the income generated in these major cities because they are the centers of economic and political growth and use these funds to run the whole country. Therefore the government instead of treating these cities as liabilities should instead strive to make them income generating assets.

Some might argue that people from all over the country are present in the cities and therefor financially supporting the cities is the best way to preserve cultural traditions of a country. These opponents should note that these areas have become "major cities" because they are economic hubs of the country and are capable of supporting themselves. Apart from this in the metropolitan environment of these cities although people from different parts of the country might bring some of their regional traditions with them but it is naive to assume that these traditions won't be "diluted" because of the "city culture" as a result a large portion of these traditions are still present in the rural areas. As a result, the government should look after these areas as well.