Q6. Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state,even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Earth is home to countless species which vary drastically. Some may be as small as a microbe and others might be as big as an elephant. The given prompt recommends that that all the countries around the world should pass strict laws in order to preserve the wilderness in their natural state. I strongly agree with this policy and argue that humans should rise above their selfish interests and think about other living beings with which we share the Earth with because of the following two reasons.

First of all, it is important to note that it is far easier to change the location of an economic centre than it is to transfer the biodiversity of a wilderness area. For instance, suppose a company is planning to open a factory in a jungle which is near a mineral ore. The jungle is home to various living species which depend on the jungle not for all of their needs. It is illustrated from this example that it is a lot easier for the company to open the factory at some place else without destroying the jungle by spending more money on the transportation of the raw materials than it is to transfer the huge biodiversity of the jungle to some other area. And as a result the government should force the companies to look for alternate ways of economic activities to flourish without disrupting the wilderness in their natural state.

Further, many animals require very specific environmental conditions in order to survive, and dislocating them from their natural habitat could lead to their extinction. For instance, we know that polar bears need an extremely cold environment to survive and dislocating them from these areas would lead to their perishment. It is important to note from this example that the wilderness that exists in a region exists there for a reason, and it is best to preserve them in their natural state because not doing so might lead to various animals being wiped off from the face of the earth.

Some might argue that the economy of a country might take a hit by passing such laws to preserve wilderness. These opponents should realise that humans are not the sole species living on earth and as a result it is their duty to not exploit the planet every chance they get, and look out for the species with whom they share the earth with. Therefore, the government should try their best to preserve the wilderness at their natural state even if it means taking an economic hit