In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given statement claims that in order to make a significant contribution in a field it is necessary first to be strongly influenced by the past achievements in that field. Although

"impossible" is a very strong claim, this claim does hold true for the majority of the research works and discoveries that take place now a days.

The given statement is particularly significant because making a contribution in a field that makes a huge difference is not a trivial task. If suppose this statement is not followed, in order to make a contribution the person should first re-discover some of the things that have already been discovered in the past and then build up on those. Apart from the obvious waste of time and resources it is extremely probable that this approach won't lead to significant developments in the said field. This is due to the fact that humans are mortals, and first re-discovering previous discoveries and then building up on them might not be possible in a single person's lifetime.

It is a well known fact that in order to make a contribution in a particular field, one first needs to get familiar with all the past work that has taken place in this field. This is an

extremely crucial step because this would lead to constructive development to take place in the field. Constructive development means that a person can simply build on the work done by other people in this field.

The importance of this statement can be inferred from the recent boom in the open-source development community. In open-source development, the code which is used to make a product or used for research work is made public and other people can directly use this code and build up on it. The superiority of open-source culture is clearly visible from the fact that the most common programming language used across the globe, Python, is indeed an open source language.

In conclusion, it is important to note that there might always be prodigies like Newton or Einstein who do not follow the common trend and break this statement but their numbers are extremely low. Apart from this, you cannot always depend on a prodigy to be born in order to make developments in a field. Therefore, this statement does hold true for the majority of the cases.