The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter that appeared to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette it is stated that by reducing the number of mopeds rented out by moped rental companies from 50 mopeds to 25 mopeds per day would lead to an annual reduction of moped accidents by fifty percent. The author's argument is based on the fact that the similar restrictions that were imposed in Seaville town last year, lead to a fifty percent decrease in annual moped accidents. However, in order to better evaluate the author's recommendation following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, are Seaville Town and Balmer Island comparable? In other words can the statistics obtained from Seaville Town can be used to make predictions in Balmer Island? It is possible that Seaville Town has a better traffic system in place in terms of wider roads and traffic lights than Balmer Island. Further, it is possible that the moped users in Seaville Town are in general more careful and follow traffic rules more obediently than the moped users in Balmer Island. If any of the above holds true it would be a major hit for the author's recommendation.

Secondly, even if Seaville Town and Balmer Island are comparable does the success achieved in Seaville Town last year still holds true? Perhaps the immediate success obtained in Seaville town was short lived and in present time the number of morpid accidents have again increased drastically. Further, it can be possible that last summer the number of pedestrians was low due to a number of reasons and this year the number of pedestrians has increased again leading to more number of morpid accidents. If any of this is true the author's argument will fail to hold water.

Lastly, are the accidents between mopeds and pedestrians due to moped user's fault? The author has prematurely assumed that the accidents involved are entirely due to moped user's fault and as a result by reducing the number of mopeds rented per day by 50 percent the number of annual moped accidents will also reduce by 50 percent. It is possible that the majority of the moped accidents that occur in Balmer Islands are due to pedestrian's negligence. Further, it can be true that the quality of footpaths in Balmer Island is extremely poor which forces the pedestrians to walk on the roads meant for driving mopeds and as a result leading to more accidents. If the above stated holds true it would be a huge setback for the author's argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument, as it stands now, is extremely flawed because it depends on various unwarranted assumptions. If the author answers the above mentioned questions and offers some additional evidence, it would be possible to better evaluate the benefits of reducing the number of mopeds rented per day by fifty percent.