People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a widely known fact that you can tell about a person from how they treat others. The given prompt claims that a person's behavior is largely determined by factors that are not in his/her control. I mostly agree with the given prompt and argue that a person's behavior is determined majorly by various factors that are not in their control because of the following reasons.

A newborn baby is like a wet clay, the parents can shape their child's future any way they wish. A person's behavior depends a lot on their upbringing and the circumstances they grew up in. Various studies have shown that children who are raised in violent and abusive households tend to be more violent when they grow up as compared to children who were born in a supportive household. As the kind of household a person is born in and the nature of their parents is not in their control, it can be said a major factor determining a person's behavior is not in their hand.

Further, apart from their upbringing, a person's behavior is also determined by the kind of opportunities they have and the kind of people they interact with while growing up. For instance, suppose a child is born in a society where the practice of discrimination on the basis of caste is extremely prevelant. The child while growing up sees his elders discriminating against those whom they consider of the "lower" caste, and as a result considers this treatment as "normal". It is highly probable that when this child grows up to become an adult, he will still continue the practice of discrimination because he considers them as "normal". As one cannot control in what society they are brought up in, this example illustrates that many uncontrollable forces together determine a person's behaviour.

Although it might be true that many factors determining one's behavior might not be in their control, a person can still overcome these factors because how one treats other is not only dependent on their upbringing but also on their conscience. For instance, we can look at the life of one of the most famous freedom fighter in South Africa's history Nelson Mandela. Throughout his childhood he faced extreme discrimination on the basis of race by the britishers. He was not allowed to sit in bus, entry at various restaurants and he was even jailed when he tried to speak up. It would have been easy for him to hate the britishers like many of his peers but he never once bore ill-will towards them. This is evident from the fact that when South Africa gained independence and he became the president, he was one of the most vocal supporter of black and white south africans working together to build up the nation. This example illustrates that despite extreme conditions a person might grow up in, it is possible for them to take charge and shape their behavior, however as we know the number of such noble people is extremely low.

Human brain is an extremely complex organ and as a result deriving a general maxim which governs the working of all the human brains around the world is an impossible task. This said, it is still possible to come up with an axiom which is true for the majority of the cases. Therefore in conclusion, it can be said that indeed many uncontrollable factors determine behavior of most of the humans around the globe.