Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The given statement discusses whether or not the government should fund in Arts. I'm of the opinion that the government should invest in Art as it would lead to arts to flourish and the improvement of society as a whole. In the following essay I would try to convince you with my point of view.

There are primarily two ways in which the government can invest in arts. The first way is to make it more profitable for more people to take up arts as a profession. This can be done in multiple ways such as commissioning government funded art projects, exhibitions, various reimbursements etc. Once people see arts as a viable career path it would encourage many budding artists to pursue this path and as a result arts will flourish.

The second way in which the government can invest in arts is providing easy access to art for everyone. This can be done by giving free entries to art museums, advertising various exhibitions and artists, etc. Providing free entries to museums can serve a twofold purpose first it could act as an inspiration for various people and encourage them to pursue arts and secondly it would act as a way for an artist for their work to reach a greater audience. And this is why many famous art museums such as the Louvre in Paris have made entry free for students. Apart from this the government could include various forms of arts in the school curriculum. This would give students an early exposure to arts.

It is necessary that more and more people have access to art because art forces a person to think. Apart from this, art also helps in uniting people and this is the reason why almost all of the movements that have taken place in history had a symbol or an anthem. This is the reason why when art will flourish the society will prosper as well.

The opposing school of thoughts also have a compelling argument, that the government funding might lead to the government trying to spread propaganda through art. Although this has happened time and again in history, various artists were unwilling to compromise their work and as a result the integrity of art has remained intact throughout the generations. And as a result, I believe that the benefits of government funding in arts clearly outweigh its disadvantages.