Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The true quality of a leader is their ability to inspire others. The given prompt provides two paths which a leader could take in order to be effective : yield to public opinion or stick to their personal principles. I strongly agree with the later statement and argue that a leader should be consistent with their personal beliefs because of the following reasons.

Firstly, it is important to note that the public opinion might not always be the correct path to proceed and to yield results. For instance, in the late 19th century when India hadn't gained independence, due to the various injustices of the british government the majority of the Indian population was of the opinion that in order to overthrow the british government violence is necessary. At the same time, the famous freedom fighter Mahatma Gandhi rose to power. Mahatma Gandhi was a staunch supporter of Non-Violence and believed that it is possible for India to gain independence without becoming violent. In fact, he was so strongly committed to this cause that he even called off a nation-wide protest against the Britishers because a few incidents of violence were reported in the country. As we all know, because of his commitment to his ideals he was finally able to lead India to independence and is one of the most famous political leaders around the world. The given example shows that a leader can be effective and can yield results by being committed to their principles.

Further, if the leaders continuously abandon their own principles and yield to public opinion in order to stay popular they might seem indecisive because the public opinion is ever changing. Suppose a leader in order to stay popular continually contradicts himself, and sways in the direction of what is currently popular at the moment. It is extremely unlikely that people will follow such a leader because they will never know how the leader will react in the future. Therefore in order for a leader to be effective he needs people to follow them and this is unlikely to happen if he continuously changes his beliefs depending on what is popular.

Although, some people might argue that if a leader is unwilling to yield to public opinion they will never be able to attract support. These opponents should note that people follow a leader whose beliefs align closest with their own beliefs and not the one who is willing to abandon their principles at every possible chance to gain more supporters. Therefore, only leader with unshakable beliefs are likely to attract supporters and in turn be effective.