Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Where are the nation's cultural traditions preserved and generated? In the cites or in the villages? As most people would agree, villages and small towns are the areas where you could find a nation's diverse culture and traditions. In this prompt, the author claims that governments must ensure that major cities receives financial support in order to thrive. To support this claim, the author argues that the cities are the place where the nation's cultural traditions preserved and generated. I mostly agree with the claim made by the author. However, the reason provided to support this claim is not appropriate and true. Hence, I disagree with the reason provided.

To begin with, I believe, it is the duty of the government of any nation to provide financial aid to the cities and the villages for their development. Finance is the major factor contributing for the overall growth of a country. For example, to provide the fundamental need of , say water, to the overall city which is an important factor government has to invest financially to provide this essential requirement. Hence, the government must ensure that proper finance is devoted to the major cities, as these major cities contribute the most to the economy of the nation.

Secondly, the cultural traditions are mostly originated in the small towns and villages of a country, and are preserved there. For example in India, the 'saree', Indian traditioinal form of clothing, are worn by the women in small towns and villages on a daily basis. However, we do not see this form of clothing in the major major cities in India. Similarly, there are various traditional programs that are celebrated in the small towns of a country and are not seen in major cities. Hence, in my opinion, cities are not the primary areas where nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Moreover, the claim made by the author is correct but the reason does not seem to really support the claim. Nevertheless, if the governments provide the small towns and villages with necessary funds to preserve and generate the nation's cultural traditions, it would be more beneficial. These towns and villages can be a famous tourist destination in future, if appropriate funds are provided to preserved and generated the nation's cultural traditions, eventually, the villages and towns would develop more and contribute to the nations economy by attracting more tourists.

To conclude, the reason on which the claim is based is not true and I disagree with it. However, the claim on its own is essentialnd important.