The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members.The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this e-mail, the author recommends to institute a 'Shakespeare in the park' program similar to the 'Free Plays in the park' program started by Avon Repertory Company. Doing so the author thinks would increase the profits and attract new members to the Classical Shakespeare Theatre. However the recommendation suffers from several flaws and is therefore doubtful and questionable as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author assumes that by imitating the similar program as introduced by Avon Repertory Company would increase the profits of their theatre, without taking in account the actual reasons behind the decline in profits. Is introducing a new program essentially sufficient to increase the profits? However there may be other reasons like increased pricing of the tickets, decline in the population of people nearby, lesser number of people interested in watching classical plays, etc. All of these reasons would led to attract fewer audience and hence, would be a substantial reason for the decline in profits. therefore the author should first find out the reasons behind the decline and then act accordingly.

In addition to this, the author states the profits of Avon Repertory Company increased by 10% after introducing 'Free Plays in the Park' program. But, the 10% mentioned is not significant enough. Maybe the profit earlier was $1 and now it is $1.1, which does not properly justify the profit. Hence we need more clear numbers which signifies the profits. Also, was 'Free Plays in the Park' program the only reason to increase profits of the company? It maybe possible that the company introduced many other schemes to attract more audience. Or there might be a possibility that the company reduced the ticket prices. All of these assumptions need to be verified by the author.

Finally, the most important question here is are' the Classical Shakespeare Theatre' and 'Avon Repertory Company' even comparable? There might be the possibility that they have different kinds of audience, they might be situated in different cities, one of them might be situated in a cosmopolitan area and other might be situated on a countryside. In these cases comparing the profits of both would be unjustifiable.

In retrospect, the author seems precipitous to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions pertaining the increase profits. To strengthen the argument, further investigation and analysis are needed. If the argument had answered the questions discussed above it would have more through and logical acceptance.