Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The author here claims that, it is the educational institutes’ responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing the field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I mostly disagree with this position regarded by the author for the following reasons mentioned further which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that educational institutes have a commendable role in shaping the students’ future.

First off, to pursue some kind of field of study is an individual choice, which is subjective. Every student is different and has different likings and interests. The choice of field of study wholly depends on the student and not on the educational institute. For instant, the teachers in the educational institute might suggest the students to pursue their careers in a field which might be in boom in the near future. Most of the students might agree to their professors and opt such a field. But there might be some extraordinary students who might just not agree with the professors and may choose a whole different field. It’s of course an individual decision of what field to study and it is hence the individuals’ responsibility for his own success.

In addition, the author here forgets the fact that there are thousands of students studying in the same institute. And the reason behind a particular individual choosing the institute is their interest in the curriculum provided by the institute. In such a case it is obviously not the institutes control over the student to choose the particular field of study. It is the student who has chosen the institution and by choosing the same he him selves decides the field of study. Hence, we cannot take in account the educational institute for the students’ failure to choose a field in which he/she is unlikely to succeed.

Just like they say every coin has two side the prompt above has another side as well. Yes, the educational institute might help a student choose the right path in which he/she may succeed I future. For example, let us say there is an engineering college, in the same there is a student constantly scoring less marks and has many backlogs. But the same individual is an outstanding artist. Here, the faculty in the institution might just guide the student to become an artist and perform arts rather than studying a field in which he is not likely to succeed in future. The educational institute might help to build a students’ bright future, but the institution is not responsible for the student to not succeed.

In conclusion, the educational institution must not be considered responsible for a students’ unlikeliness to succeed. Instead, it is the students responsibility for his/her success or failure.