A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The author here claims that all the students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly disagree with this position mentioned by the author for the following reasons mentioned, which I will eluciadate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that there might be cases where we need to have similar cirriculums for different students to get a better personal growth.

To begin with, as we all know and agree with the postion that "every child is different" and hence, has different likings and tendencies, the author should consider this point in his cliam. For example, if one of the child does not enjoy maths at all, in such a case we cannot force him/her to study a cirriculum which does cointain maths at a higher extent. And in an other example, there might be a case where a student likes math and does not enjoy social science, in such a case we cannot force him to the similar cirriculm as the first child, it would be unjustice to both. So the author should consider every child as different human with different liking, and hence should be provided with different cirriculum.

In addition to this, we have different students with physical or mental disabilities, what about them? We cannot teach them the same cirriculum as the normal students. For examle, in India we call such students as "special children" and we teach them some special cirriculum, based on their physical and mental capabilities, we send them to special schools. The author here cannot just deny the fact that such students do exist and the need some special attention in their childhood. Hence they cannot be taught the same cirriculum as the normal students are been taught in school.

Lastly, just like every coin has two sides, the above prompt has a positive consequence as well. By teaching every student the same curriculum, we can have advantages. For example, all the students would get equal amount of exposure in their childhood which would obviously be beneficial for them in their later future.

To conclude, the author should think about the points mentioned above and rethink about his claim of having a national curriculum for the nation.