The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members.The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this e-mail, the author recommends to institute a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program similar to the 'Free Plays in the park' program started by Avon Repertory Company. Doing so the author thinks would increase the profits and attract new members to the Classical Shakespeare Theatre. However, the recommendation suffers from several flaws and is therefore doubtful and questionable as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author assumes that by imitating the similar program as introduced by Avon Repertory Company would help increase the profits of their theatre as well, without taking in account the actual reasons behind the decline in profits. Is introducing a new program essentially sufficient to attract audience and increase the profits? Moreover, there may be other reasons like increased pricing of the tickets, decline in the population of people nearby, lesser number of people interested in watching classical plays performed in the theatre, etc. All of these reasons would lead to decline in the number of audience and hence, would be a substantial reason for the decline in profits. Therefore, the author should first need to find out the reasons behind the decline in the number of audience and then act accordingly to attract them.

In addition to this, the author states the successful implementation of 'Free Plays in the Park' by Avon Repertory Company which increased company’s profits by 10%. But, the 10% profit mentioned here is not reliable. Maybe the profit earlier was $1 and after using the strategy is $1.1, which does not properly justify an increase. Hence, we need more clear numbers which signifies the profits. Also, was 'Free Plays in the Park' program the only reason to increase profits of the company? It may be possible that the company introduced many other schemes to attract more audience. Or there might be a possibility that the company reduced the ticket prices which eventually attracted more audience. All of these assumptions need to be verified by the author to know the real reasons behind the company’s profit.

Finally, the most important question here is are the two 'The Classical Shakespeare Theatre' and 'Avon Repertory Company' even comparable? There might be the possibility that the two theatres have different kinds of audience, they might be situated in different cities, they might have different genres, they might have different prices in tickets, etc. For example, one of them might be situated in a cosmopolitan area and other might be situated on a countryside, In such a case, comparing both would be unjustifiable.

In retrospect, the author seems precipitous to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions pertaining the increase profits. To strengthen the argument, further investigation and analysis are needed. If the argument had answered the questions discussed above it would have more through and logical acceptance.