The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, it is recommended that Calatrava government should decrease the funds budgeted for education while increasing the ones allocated for adult programs and city facilities. It appears as a recommendation by the committee planning a ten-year budget for the city. But the committee’s recommendation seems to be unwise and short sighted.

Firstly, the author states that the birth rate in the city is declining, by stating, the birth rate last year was only half that of five years ago, here the author is comparing last years data with data 5 years ago which is unjustified, as there would have been any socio-economic, cultural, climatic change or a spread of some disease in the previous year. There might be a possibility that there was some social crises last year, which might have led to poverty in people living in Calatrava, and due to that, people might not have had the budget to raise kids specifically in that year. There many such possibilities as there is no scientific and concrete data provided regarding child birth.

Secondly, the author wrongly assumes that, the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease. There is also a possibility that there might be economic crises in the near future which might les the parents to send their kids to the public schools as they would not have money to send the kids to private schools. Also, what if the birth rate drastically increases in the next two years due to some new technologies in pharmacy industry? The number of kids would drastically increase in the next decade and step decrease in the funds to education, this would be an unwise decision.

Lastly, the committee thinks of reducing funds for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities, assuming these athletic playing fields and recreational facilities are only used by children and not by adults. Reducing funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities would hamper the health of kids as well as adults, as to keep ourself fit and healthy outdoor activities are essential. And reducing budget over them would lead to an unhealthy environment.

To conclude, the decision of the committee of decreasing the funds budgeted for education while increasing the ones allocated for adult programs and city facilities, is unwise. More scientific information and accurate statistic data is required to come to an precise and correct decision.