The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memorandum, the author suggests to build a new store in Plainsville, as the residents living there are interested in living a health life, who would eventually buy their health related products. However, the argument suffers from several flaws and is therefore unconvincing as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with the, the author states that the nearby merchant stores in plainsville have reported a high sales of running shoes and exercise related products. Form this assertion the author falsely concludes that the same consumers would also by their health related products. Perhaps there are more similar stores selling healthy food and these consumers are buying food from the other stores. In such a case, it would be an unwise decision to build a similar kind of store in Plainsville, as there is a very low chance of growth of a similar type of food store due to higher competition.

In addition to this, the author states that the local health club which was nearly closed 5 years ago has members more than ever. The author fails to provide adequate data related to how significant the number of members are. It may be a case that, previously the health club had 7-8 members and now the members are 14-15, which means that the total number of members are more than ever yet are relatively less. Having such less people going to the health club weakens the possibility to customers to buy their products. The author should provide more data related to his assertion to make his argument stronger.

In conclusion, the author seems hurried to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions. To strengthen his argument, further investigation and more data is required. If the argument had included given factors stated above it would have been more thorough and logically acceptable.