In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

What is the world without imagination? Is there a new invention without imagination? Wouldn’t life just be rudimentary without imagination? Is imagination more important than education?

Is imagination even possible without education? The above prompt argues that, imagination is superior to knowledge in most of the professions and academic fields. I mostly disagree with the position regarded by the author for the following reasons mentioned which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that imagination in some cases is as important as knowledge.

Is one even able to imagine new ideas or concepts without having prior knowledge about them?

For instance, a science student, who does not have any knowledge about the subject. Would he be able to make plausible invention related to the subject? Would he be able to imagine more newer ideas? No, he won’t be able to do so. Without having any basic knowledge about the field of study, we won’t be able to think or imagine about it practically.

The latest example of this is, would the scientists have discovered the vaccines for the novel corona virus without having the actual knowledge about it. We by sitting home could only have imagined about having such a vaccine but, the scientists who in practical gain the knowledge of the virus are able to make the real vaccines. Hence Imagination has not really possible without having no basic idea about the subject. Similarly, only imagination would not let us bring things into practical existence without having the essential knowledge about it.

Just like they say every coin has two sides. The above notion is actually even possible in some creative fields. Like for example, while writing a play, the writer has to imagine about the story and characters. And having the knowledge about the characters is secondary in such a case. Also in the case of the director of the play, imagining about how the performance would actually look on stage, how would the characters enter on stage is of course more important.

But it academic fields, as the name suggests theoretical knowledge and imaginative powers go hand in hand. Only imagining things would mot lead to actually create them knowledge about what you are thinking is also essential.

‘Lose some gain some’ is a true principle. Same goes with the statement above, imagining things is not possible without having actual knowledge about the related field. And without imagination there could be no progress in the same field. Hence, both knowledge and imagination are equally important for in any field to make progress, may it be some professional field or an academic one.