The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author states that the Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for the parents considering to enroll their child in music lessons. However the advice given by author suffers from several flaws and is therefore scarcely credible and unconvincing as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the very first reason stated by the author is questionable itself. The author states there is no audition required to attend the school, the question that arises here is if there are no auditions, then on what basis is a student granted inside the school? Even in our primary schools we are interviewed and then granted to get inside the school. Giving admits to any student in any school is a long process and requires the the child to be interviewed or auditioned. If there are no auditions, there must be some criteria of selecting a student. the author needs to mention the required information.

Secondly, the argument says, nearly all musical instruments as well as a wide variety of styles and genres are been offered by the school. In this case the author fails to mention what are the actual instrument and styles that are taught by the school because, 'nearly all' and 'a wide range' both of these are vague terminologies. These terms do not necessarily mean that all instruments and styles are been taught in the school. The author in this case must provide the actual numbers and lists of instruments and styles. let us consider an example, a child who wants to learn an Indian classical instrument 'tabla' and which is not offered by the school, in such a case why should the parents consider Mozart School of Music as their first preference?

In addition to this, the author says that the faculties of the school include some of the most distinguished musicians. The question that arises here is if the musician is a well-known, why would he/she ever need to work as a faculty in the school? For instance, if I am a well know dancer, why would i go and teach in the school, i would instead be busy with my performances and shows or I might have been busy in building up my own dance academy. I believe a distinguished musician would no way be appointed as a faculty in some school. This might all be exaggerated information given on the school website to attract more people to join their school. The author needs to mention more related information regarding faculties teaching in the school.

Lastly, the author states that many of the Mozart graduates have become well known and highly paid professional musicians. 'Many of the graduates' does not essentially mean 'all of them', the author fails to give the actual number of the pass-outs who have become successful professionals. The author should further state the actual numbers of such graduates, until this information is not provided this statement made by the author remains dubious.

In retrospect, the author seems precipitous to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions and deficient information pertaining the parents to consider Mozart School of Music as their first preference.