Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Nation’s cultural traditions are pecious legacy that should be cared about very properlty. I belive that in order to be preserved and generated they need commencurate amount of finance to cover the costs, but it is not a necessary reason for governments to be meticulous about.

I do understand that governments should be curious about the financial resources being duly allocated among major cities, but the cultural traditions are not the proper reason for it. The first reason for this incentive, I think, is the budgeting and financing. Every city makes a plan of future expenditures, and thus demands sufficient funding from the government. So, by making a detailed budget, all expances, included the costs of maintaining cultural legacy, the city provides with information needed for resource allocation. The only problem of the government is to ensure that there is no outflow of the financing.

I do not agree with the reason, mentioned in the task, because for a city to flourish, the need in preserving and developing nation’s cultural traditions may be not as significant for the modern life as the development of education system, the roads and communication systems, and so forth. The major cities are the representatives of a whole country and their development is essential for tourism. Nevertheless, the role of cultural traditions should not be dismissed.

Major cities are not essentially the carries of the cultural traditions, and therefore concentrating attention on this aspect of finance will lead to descrepancies from the other important parts. To understand the essence of the question, furher investigation into the diversity of a particular city should be lead.

To conclude, I would like to say that the claim is significantly important from the prospective of resource distribution , but the reason, mentioned in the task, is not the one that should lay under the explanation of the claim. However, nation’s cultural traditions should not be dismissed