Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

I strongly agree with the speaker as the goverment must focus on the major cities as major components of the nations are represented by the city. However, this doesn`t mean other cities must be neflected. Here are some examples that aplty illustrates why govenrment must focus on the major cities.

Firstly, the nation are known by their major cities like New York cities of US, Delhi and mumbai of India, Pokhara of Nepal etc. These cities are famous and known for their own speciality and reperesnts their specific characters. As their names are sufficient to arrest the attention of people, how can government not focus on these areas ?? Many national and international tourist come to visit those cities and this can benefit in the development of the country as the tourism industry can be flourished and mechanized. People can learn about that nation`s cultural tradions and rituals that can help them broaden their knowledge about the diversity in the culture and traditions present in every nations and can learn about the right and wrongs about these traditions. So, for this reason i support with the speaker.

Secondly, in major cities, major industries, institutions, services are needed as people from different countries mostly visits these major cities and if the required services aren`t available then they won`t be visiting next time. This has to be done so that their next destination would be our city not the other city. And talking about the culture, this helps to represent our nations all over the world and who wouldn`t want to listen their cities name in most beautiful and famous in culture and other various fields. And as mentioned in the first point, when the tourism industry flourishes, then employment opportunity also flourishes and as a result, it can reduce the main burden of the nations i.e:unemployment. And this can bring about development in the other cities too gradually.

Thirdly, when government invests more money and time in such cities, the benefit can be seen all over the nations. As mentioned earlier, tourism industry and employment opportunity can help to solve most of the problems of nation so that government can have better focus on the development of the country. People shouldn`t have narrow thinking they mustn`t just focus on the major cities. What if that city might be the only reason for the development of the whole nation? what if that nation is solely contributing in the economic development of the country? What the point on focusing on the other cities that might not contribute as done by those cities. This doesn`t mean that they should not be focused. Just depending on the priorities, the government must invest wisely.

In sum, i just want to say that government must identify which city to be given more importance that would wisely help them in the welfare of the nation.