Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university

courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic

and to achieve a common goal.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Group assignments should not supplant the traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses because it often puts the burden of work of the whole group on a single person and students to be lax when they are with peers and thus, are more likely to indulge in prattling than study.

In group assignment, it is usually the case that one person does most work and remaining people in the group tend to freeload on the work of one person. For instance, When a group of students is assigned a work, most people avoid the work finding some reason and as a result, only one or two personnel who are genuinely interested in doing work will do the most work. Though it may not harm to those who has done most work, the students who tend to freeload on others work do not learn anything. And on rare occasion, the people who does the most work may be distressful because he has to take more responsibilities. This will eventuate into hindering of learning and will be counterproductive to the goal.

Students within group can have diverse opinion about the particular topic which may forestall the progress of work. These differences in the opinion translate to the conflict and thus, defeats the overall goal of learning. For example, During my undergraduate study, I was assigned to work on a project with four other people. But due to differences in our opinion about the approach toward work, it frequently led to conflicts. Consequently, the project was not completed within given time frame. Also, some people tend to act like know-it-all to the point that they are insufferable and when such an individual is around, most student in the group either stop working or abandon the work all together. On the other hand, if each student does his work individually, the likelihood of conflicts is less. More importantly, a student is compelled to do his work on his own and learn something out of it. It is better to get something out of work rather than nothing, therefore, group assignments should not replace the conventional lecture-based instruction at college and university.

However, when a group of students have established a rapport, conflict in opinion do not hinder the work and in such cases, group assignments provides an opportunity to share their views and learn something from each other. Moreover, in group assignment, divide and attack strategy can be employed to accomplish the work at a great pace. But, the question arises who will decide each students duty? Since each student have high opinion about themselves, all of them want to undertake the percieved important task of the assignment. It frequently eventuates into the conflict.

In conclusion, group assignments should not replace the orthodoxical lecture-based instruction at college and university because it deprives at least a few students of the opportunity to learn, creates more chaos and hinders the progress of work and therefore, is counterproductive.