Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The success of any enterprise is heavily dependent on the vision of its leader. Changing the leader from time to time is of paramount importance for progress. Keeping provision for changing leadership allows to monitor the progress made by the leadership, brings in new ideas to tackle existing problem, is 100% performance based, therefore, those in puissance should step down after five years for the prosperity of an organization.

First, vicissitude of leadership with time equips those being led to track the progress. For instance, in politics, it is essential that those in power should step down after five years. If those in power have significantly contributed to the advancement of the nation. They will be further put into power after the election with approval from people. In case, where the government just has squandered the money, they will not come to power again and therefore the provision of changing leadership allows the government to be revitalized.

Next, new people bring novel ideas that may contribute to radical positive change. For example, appointing new CEO after every five years means the company is likely to make progress. This may not be true all the time, but it will certainly help to bring a progressive change.

If those in power do not have the fear of being changed, the company or government is more likely to be in a stasis.

Let us consider the case of government. If those in power are not changes every five, the government would soon become dictatorial and this will brings the nation down instead of ascendancy to a more prosperous country.

Overall, those in power should step down every five years because new people bring in new ideas that may cause radical change, allows to monitor progress, and prevent dictatorship.