Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Though scandals transiently focus our attention on the cause of a problem, they are not useful because scandals cause huge loss of money and promote corruption.

Most scandals cause squandering of money. For instance, in India, a few years ago, the coal block allocation scam was exposed by CAG ( Comptroller and auditor general of India). This embezzlement of money was around 200 million INR. Culprits were able to commit this because they leveraged a loophole in the coal block allocation system. A person entrusted with allocating coal mines would often give it to their relatives or another business magnate at a much cheaper price than its actual price. This loophole in the allocation system has now been identified and nowadays government tenders coalmines through an online portal. Removing middleman left little scope for improvement. These de-merits of laws could have rectified earlier without waiting for some huge scandal taking place.

Culpable people often get away with their scam in countries where protector of laws remiss their duty. Scandals only exacerbate the already rife corruption. When culprits get away without punishment, it gives other venial individuals, a wrong message. For example, a politician who squanders a public funds gets away with economic offense or when the punishment is not commensurate to the economic offense they commit, it reinforces their habit do scandals again and again.

In conclusions, Scandals does more harm than good because they lead to loss of money and promotes corruption.