Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument, Nature's Ways's next franchise should prove succesful in the town of Plainsville is flawed and based on vague and unwarranted assumption. Therefore, Nature's Way's next venuture in the town of Plainsville will be unsuccessful.

First, it is being assumed that all the healthy people would prefer to buy health food and health-related products from the Nature's Way. The possibility of presence of any other competitor of the Nature's Ways is clearly denied. In the town of Plainsville, there may be other companies which sell the products similar to the Nature's Way a at much cheaper rate. This , in turn, would reduce the sells of the Nature's Way and weaken the argument.

Second, the vague evidences have been cites in the argument to back up assumption that people of the town of Plainsville are healthy. These citations include increase in the sales of exercise clothing and shoes. There are slew of other possibilities which would explain the fact of increase in exercise clothing and footwears. It could be possible that in the town of Plainsville, excersie clothing and shoes are sold at much cheaper price and people from shopkeepers and other people from neighbouring town buy exercise clothing and shoes from the town of Plainsville. Also, buying exercise clothing and shoes does not necessarily mean people put them to use. Many of the people who have bought excercise clothing and shoes sporadically go out for excercise but they want to have these amenities available all the time so that they can excercise whenever they feel to do so.

Third, the argument provides weight training and aerobic classes being full as the evidence of people being fitness freaks. It might be possble that the number of gyms available in the town of Plainsville are few which explains the classes being full. Moreover, even if the weight training and aerobic classes are full does not translates to the whole town of Plainsville excersing.

Finally, the argument assumes that all the children from school would buy helath-related products from the Nature's Way. It might be that school has tie up with some othe company which sells health food and health product at cheaper rates. Moreover, it is not know how many children are there in the school? If there are, say only 10 students in School, it will not boost the companies profit at all. Not all the children who participate in fitness-fo-life program likes excersizing. Since it is mandatory, as stated in the argument, may a small population of children wants to get over with it without putting any effort.

In conclusion, the argument, Nature's Way's next frinchise at the town of Plainsville is flawed because it is based on vague and unwarranted assumptions.