The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that construction of new plant for generating electricity is not necessary is based on the unwarranted assumption and unsubstantiated claims and hence, the argument falls apart.

First, the author cites a dubious survey where in people are shown to be eager to save the energy. However, provides no information about the sample size, whether the population was representative or not. Also, it is being assumed that the people who showed eagerness to save energy in the survey will necessarily save the energy. It might be that survey consisted of many other question and one of them was whether people want to save the energy or not? Most people are going to respond it affirmatively and author has taken affirmation of a few people to the face value. It might be that no one really cares about saving energy but said so as not to come across as dupe. If the people are not eager to save the energy, it is likely that electricity requirement will increase and the existing plant will not be able to meet the increasing demand of electricity. Therefore, the author's argument fails.

Second, the author cites increase in marketing electrical appliances which are twice as efficient as they were a decade ag as evidence to support argument, the electricity need will not increase and thus, there is no need to build new plant of electricity generation. However, author fails to give any information about the efficiency about the electrical appliances a decade ago. It is being assumed in the argument that they were not consuming much electricity a decade ago and now since they are twice as efficient as a decade ago, they will reduce the electricity usage. It could be that a decade ago these electrical applicances required considerably higher electrical energy and increase in their efficiency has not made any big difference. As a result, the energy demand will continue to increase. Also, it is being assumed in the argument that people have money and willpower to but these new electricl appliances. The author's argument also implies that people already don't have any electrical appliances and are looking forward to buy new one. Since it is unlikely that people will buy new ostentatiously energy efficient electrical appliances, the energy demand would continue to rise and there will be need to build a new plant.

Third, it is being assumed in the argument that the people use electrical energy only for the purpose of home heating and not for any other things. But author provides no substantial evidence in the supporta of same. It could be that people use electrical energy for more than one purposes and the need for energy will continue to rise. Therefore, the author's argument that there is no need to build new plant is undermined.

Finally, it is being assumed that the population and the demand of energy with increasing population will not increase. But, the author fails to provide any evidence in support of the claim and hence, the author's argument falls apart.

In conclusion, the argument is riddled with unwarranted assumption and falacious reasoning therefore, the argument fails.