No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my view, interdisciplinary approach in any field of study is of paramount importance because it brings together the knowledge from diverse fields to answer the most puzzling questions. Blending of knowledge from different fields makes it possible to generate new solutions to existing problems.

Before the development of field of Genetics, a study of genetic inheritance, it was difficult for the historians to trace the ancestry. Geneticist and Historian work in collaboration to find out the history of a human beings. Geneticst rely on a techniques used in Molecular Biology which were developed by Physicist and Chemist.

Incorporating the knowledge and experinece of people from different field has helped to solve the mysteries in the past. For instance, many people speculated Deoxyribonucleic Acid to be genetic material but it was difficult to explain how it's inheritance takes place until the structure of DNA was elucidated by Watson and Crick. Crick,a Physicist, relied heavily on the data generated by Rosalind Franklin , an eminent Physicist, and Erwin Chrargaff- prominent chemist of his time. Chargaff found that content two types of nitrogenous bases in DNA is always equal using the knowledge of Chemistry. Rosalind Franklin pictured the DNA using X-ray diffraction, a frequently used technique in Physics. Elucidation of structure of DNA was a landmark discovery in the field of Biology which opened many new avenues to be explored. As a result, of this discovery many people started looking for genes and sequence them. In 2000, the Human Genome Project was completed which marks one of the greatest achievement in the Human History. The advantages of elucidating sequence of whole Human Genome were myriad. It became possible to find out which genes are mutated in certain genetic disorder.Extrapolating on the past achievements, it would be possible to accomplish the most incredible goals using multidisciplinary approach.

Specialist from different field are brought together and work under single umbrella to realize the shared goals. If a biologist finds out the etiology of disease, Chemist screens for the drugs that could correct underlying pathology of disease.