Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

To become an effective leader, leader should not submit to public's will because a leader is well-informed to make decision and sometimes people can make outrageously unjust demands.

Leaders are well equipped with information to take a decision and can undesrstand the bigger picture. People, on the other hand, are myopic and look for the ways to instantly banish their thought provoking stimulus. For example, a few terrorists fostered near the Indo-Pak border ambushed a military camp at the Uri, India. The instant reaction and stand of people on this issue was to attack Pakistan. There are many instances when Indian people react this way, ignoring the fact that both countires are nuclear power and if war happens, it would lead to carnage on both sides, India and Pakistan. Indian leadership instead chose to carry out clandestine surgical strike and they succesfully did it. By doing so, leaders have dettered the terrorists near border from attacking, in addition to, mollifying angry people.

Had the leaders yielded to public demand of attacking Pakistan under the pretext that they sponsor those terrorist, it would have cost too much to India.

Sometimes people can make quixotic demannds thinking that their demands have no dire consequences.For instance, lately, a few groups in India belonging to particular creed have been staging protest to increase the reservation they get in job and education. Reservation is the provision through which particular number of seats in any field- education or job- are allocated to people belonging to certain group. Indian constitution have amended that there can never be more than a total of 50% reservation for all the backward people. But now some people were demanding to increase reservation from 50% to 60%, which I think is ridiculuos.

However, sometimes people can really be in need of leaders help and demand aid for very basic things. In such cases, leader should heed to public opinion and help them out to work efficiently.

In conclusion, Leaders should not blindly submit to public demand because they are well-informed to make decision and people can deman unrealistic things.