The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

The city government proposes to let only the residents become the member on the committee that advises government on the usage of budget. While the government provides two reasons why it could be able to make the Oak City better place by allowing only residents become the member of committee, all these reasons are dubious. It is not known how many member on the commitee are non-resident members? and whether their objections were reasonable or foolish? If there were significant number of resident member on the committe and government still failed to convince the committee then removing non-resident member from the committe will not make the Oak City a better place to live.

Secondly, the local government cites that non-resident member work in the city but live somewhere else hence, they do not understand the politics and government of the city. Since non-resident members of the committee work in the city, there is greater chance that they are as aware as any other resident of the city about the politics. They could have learned about the working and politics of the city either directly or from some other sources. It might be that they have friend who happens to be resident member of the society and non member keep themselves abreast of current affairs in the city by discussing with resident member of the society. Since the claims of the local government are apocryphal, removing non-resident member on the committee is unlikely to make the Oak City a better place to live.

Thirdly, the local government cites resident of city paying taxes as evidence of their awareness of politics of the city. However, it is not known whether resident of the city are really aware the politics of the city. In case, it is proven that the residents are not aware about the current affairs of city, the governments recommendation is unlikely ot have the predicted result.

Finally, it is unclear what are the motives of government behind asking people to let the only residents become member of the society. If only residents become the member on the committee, there is high probability that favuratism will be rife in the government and in turn would lead to waxing of the corruption and squandering of the valuable resources. This is antithetical to what the government proposes to do after electing only residents as the member of the society.

The government's recommendation could be corroborated by disclosing the facts and not percieved deficiency of non-resident members, and by revealing whether the large number of resident member were in opposition to the government or not.

In conclusion, since the government motives are unclear, the number of non-resident member already present on the committtee and whether the objection raised by committee were rfooloish or no is unknown, the city government's recommendation will not make the Oak City a better place to live.